Dean Waller Named to State Transformation Advisory Board

Matthew A. Waller, dean of the Walton College, has been named by Gov. Asa Hutchinson to a newly created board to identify efficiencies and cost-savings in Arkansas government.

Waller joins the 15-member Transformation Advisory Board along with a distinguished group of academics, business leaders and government officials.

“It is an honor to be asked by the governor to join this group and work toward making our state government work better for the people of Arkansas and save taxpayers’ money,” Waller said. “The group of public and private leaders he has assembled is uniquely qualified to do that.”

The advisory board is a volunteer group that will make policy recommendations to the state’s chief transformation officer, Amy Fecher. Fecher is an ex officio member of the board. No taxpayer money will be spent on the board, the governor’s office said.

The governor’s office said in a release Tuesday, Feb. 21, that the board will examine the recommendations for potential efficiencies and cost-savings from a report that the Arkansas Policy Foundation released last year and that it will be “charged with evaluating additional efficiencies within state government and prioritizing the state’s plan of action for transformation.”

A full list of board members can be found at the governor’s website.